Puff Sleeve Jacket: part 4

The sleeve are done and seamed, all that is left is the collar and this is where I have run into a problem. You see my gauge was off on this, I was getting 24 stitches to 4 inch so I went with making a large to produce a small size. However I did not pay much attention to my row gauge and this is were the problem comes from. My row gauge was only 1 row more then what the pattern called for, meaning where the pattern referred to rows I should have been doing the small size, which I didn’t. This has resulted in my neckline be lower then what it should be therefore bigger, so last night when I sat down to do the collar, and then pinned it to the body, it was not long enough but was too wide. I now need to sit down and work out what I’m going to do. I could flag the collar and just pick up around the neckline and do some garter stitch or I could calculate how to get the collar to fit. But is the collar going to look ok now that the neck line is so much lower then it should be?

Leave a Reply

