Piano Rock

Piano Rock: A 1950s Childhood Piano Rock: A 1950s Childhood by Gavin Bishop

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
It was the cover which drew me to the book. The story delivers a well paced recount of Gavin’s years in Kingston touching on events that helped shaped him between the ages of 4 – 8. It is beautifully illustrated as to be expected. The story warmed me as I read and thought of how similar the everyday events seam to my own parents childhood in the 50s.
I think this book would be an easy read for most children over 8 years with short chapters allowing children to pick it up for a moment, while others could read it in one sitting. The addition of a glossary is a great feature for those with a limited knowledge of 1950s New Zealand. I really enjoyed this and plan now to read it to my daughter.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

