Fountain Pen Shawl

Let me start this post by stating that I never in my wildest dreams thought I would ever knit a lace triangle shawl. They just never appealed to me, I couldn’t see where I would ever where one and quite frankly I thought of them as an old women’s garment. How things change, I saw this photo of Jess (one of the amazing pair that started Ravelry) wearing the Ishbel shawl that she made like a scarf. This is what I needed, when ever I wear a scarf apart from the warmth it offers my neck it is also the warm in front that I like, so I went on a hunt for the type of shawl I could make and found the Fountain Pen Shawl in the spring 09 Interweave Knits.

Fountain Pen Shawl

Pattern:Fountain Pen Shawl by Susan Lawrence. Interweave Knits, Spring 2009
Yarn:Vintage Purls Sock (this is the blue I was going to use for the Winter Twilight Mitts)
Recipient: Me

Notes: I used a fingering weight yarn and 4.5 mm (US 7) needles rather then the lace weight the pattern calls for. This was purely because I wanted to use yarn I had (I’m on a bit of a stash busting mission) As a result it hasn’t turned out as lacy as I would have liked but I do still like it and it is very warm. I am still trying to block it, which turns out to be a very hard thing. I have read about blocking wires, which is something that if I were to knit a lot of lace I would invest in, they seem like they would make the blocking process I lot easier, so far it has taken as long to block it as it did to knit which was only a week 🙂

Leave a Reply

