Holiday Reading

holiday reading

I was excited at the prospect of having the 3 days between Christmas & New Year off, so I got my books ready. I started The Time Traveler’s Wife well before the holiday but the other 3 were to full my days with lovely literature. I started out with the Janet Frame titles after reading a little about her life I was fascinated to read her works, and as a New Zealander I felt I really should have some idea about them. Unfortunately I didn’t do too well with her style, and quickly moved onto reading Cross Stitch (The Outlander) for the 2nd time.

Owls Do Cry (Bloomsbury Classic) Owls Do Cry by Janet Frame

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
I tried to finish this book but I had to give up, it was a real chore. I read things because I enjoy them but this felt like I was back at school and had to read it. I admit that it does seem to be an interesting story and I agree with a lot of other people who in say it is written in a very poetic way but it was just far too hard for me.

View all my reviews >>

Faces In The Water Faces In The Water by Janet Frame

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
This is the second book of Janet Frame’s I have tried but one again the language was too hard for me, not the words but the way the story is told. I can see in bite size bits I could get through this book but it would take me a long time. The passages I did read I really did enjoy, maybe I will get this from the library again in winter perhaps when I only have little chunks of time to sit and read.

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

